iPad Pro Walk Throughs

Applications will frequently ask for access to your photos, calendars, contacts and other files. This page provides step-by-step instructions to modify settings, services and permissions on your iPad Pro.

Best practice is to only allow access to the content of your phone to apps or people you trust. Click through the activities below and follow the steps to configure your iPad appropriate to your intentions.

Connect to Virtual Private Network (VPN)

A virtual private network (VPN) is an encrypted channel for communicating across the internet. While using public Wi-Fi, a VPN ensures you are free from others snooping your traffic. This is particularly importent when accessing sensitive content, like conducting bank transactions.

  • Select "Connections" and choose what you'd like to connect to and toggle the "AnyConnect VPN" to ON (green)
  • Select the "AnyConnect" from your home screen
  • Enter your credentials in the pop up. For the second password enter "Push" to recieve a Duo push notification, or the current code from your Duo app
  • Review the pop up banner text (if applicable) and agree if accepted
  • Look for the "AnyConnect VPN" toggle switch to be ON (green) and for the VPN logo to be displayed in the upper left-hand corner of your iPad to verify you are connected to the VPN

Location Services

Providing an application access to your location means allowing it to track your movements. If you are using an app that provides helpful functionality, like finding the closest CABS bus in the rain, and from a trusted source like the Ohio State mobile app, location services make sense. However, many apps ask for this access for reasons that don't align with your privacy. Be selective.

To access location services:

  • Select the "Settings" from your home screen
  • Scroll to the "Privacy" icon
  • Go to "Location Services"

 To modify location services:

  • Toggle the switch ON to enable location services (green, with white dot on right) or OFF to disable location services (grey, with white dot on left)

To modify apps using those location services:

  • Scroll down the list at the bottom of your screen
  • Select the app you want to modify
  • Select the option from the list you want to use, typical list options are “Never”, “While Using the App”, and “Always”
  • Look for the checkmark by your choice to verify

Contacts

Many apps wish access to your contacts. If the application is used for networking and messaging, it may be helpful to allow this. If, however, there isn't a clear reason why they wish this information, you should consider blocking that access.

To view apps accessing contacts:

  • Select the "Settings" from your home screen
  • Scroll to the "Privacy" icon
  • Go to "Contacts"

Modify apps using those contacts:

  • Scroll down the list at the bottom of your screen
  • Select the app you want to modify
  • Toggle the switch ON to enable access to contacts (green, with white dot on right) or oOFF to disable access to contacts (grey, with white dot on left) 

Calendars

Again, if an app doesn't have a reason to be accessing your schedule, consider removing access to this valuable information.

To view apps accessing calendars:

  • Select the "Settings" from your home screen
  • Scroll to the "Privacy" icon
  • Go to "Calendars"

To modify apps using calendars:

  • Scroll down the list at the bottom of your screen
  • Select the app you want to modify
  • Toggle the switch ON to enable access to calendars (green, with white dot on right) or OFF to disable access to calendars (grey, with white dot on left)

Photos

Photos are valuable information about you. If you are using a social media app that you intend to use to post your photos, this permission makes sense. However, be deliberate about which apps you trust.

To view apps accessing photos:

  • Select the "Settings" from your home screen
  • Scroll to the "Privacy" icon
  • Go to "Photos"

To modify apps accessing photos:

  • Scroll down the list at the bottom of your screen
  • Select the app you want to modify
  • Select the option from the list you want to use, typical list options are “Never” or “Read and Write”
  • Look for the checkmark by your choice to verify

Microphone

With the proliferation of voice-activated commands, voice-to-text and other functionality, these apps require access to your microphone. However, be sure to check this area to make sure other apps haven't gained access you woudn't otherwise provide them.

To view apps accessing the microphone:

  • Select the "Settings" from your home screen
  • Scroll to the "Privacy" icon
  • Go to "Microphone"

To modify apps accessing the microphone:

  • Scroll down the list at the bottom of your screen
  • Select the app you want to modify
  • Toggle the switch ON to enable access to microphone (green, with white dot on right) or OFF to disable access to microphone (grey, with white dot on left)

Camera

As with the microphone, allowing an application access to your camera means allowing them eyes on you. Be sure to only allow access to the apps you authorize for use of this functionality. And check periodically to be sure only trusted apps have your permission.

To view apps accessing your camera:

  • Select the "Settings" from your home screen
  • Scroll to the "Privacy" icon
  • Go to "Camera"

To modify apps accessing your camera:

  • Scroll down the list at the bottom of your screen
  • Select the app you want to modify
  • Toggle the switch ON to enable access to the camera (green, with white dot on right) or OFF to disable access to the camera (grey, with white dot on left)

Delete Applications

To delete unwanted or unused apps:

  • Select the app you want to delete on your home screen
  • Press and hold it for 3 seconds
  • All icons will wiggle and you will be presented with an “X” in the upper left-hand corner of apps you can delete
  • Click the “X” for apps you want to delete

Update Applications

Updates to applications happen frequently. Often they are to fix software bugs, or even provide new functionality. It is best practice to keep your apps current to the latest version, unless otherwise instructed to not do so.

To update to newest version of an application:

  • Select the "App Store" from your home screen
  • Select “Updates” at the bottom right of the screen
  • Select “Update All” in the upper right of the screen